The Standards Commission oversees the administration of legislation in four distinct areas:

  • The Ethics in Public Office Acts, which set out standards of conduct for public officials, elected and appointed;
  • The Electoral Act 1997, which regulates political financing, including political donations and election expenses;
  • The Oireachtas (Ministerial and Parliamentary Activities) (Amendment) Act 2014, which regulates expenditure of public funds to political parties and independents; and
  • The Regulation of Lobbying Act 2015, which makes transparent lobbying of public officials.