The Standards Commission has six members and is chaired by a former judge of the High Court. 

Current members are:

  • Chairperson (currently vacant)
  • Seamus McCarthy, Comptroller and Auditor General;
  • Peter Tyndall, Ombudsman;
  • Peter Finnegan, Clerk of Dáil Éireann;
  • Martin Groves, Clerk of Seanad Éireann; and
  • Ordinary member (currently vacant)

The positions of Chairperson and Ordinary member are currently vacant. New appointments will be announced in due course

» Biographies of Commissioners may be viewed here


Structure of the Commission

The structure of the Standards Commission is set out in the Standards in Public Office Act 2001.

The Commission must be chaired by a current or former judge of either the Supreme Court or the High Court. The Chairperson is appointed by the President of Ireland for a six year term. 

Four members of the Commission are considered "ex-officio" members - that is, they are automatically members due to their "day jobs". These include the Comptroller and Auditor General, the Ombudsman, the Clerk of Dáil Éireann and the Clerk of Seanad Éireann. 

Finally, an "ordinary member" of the Commission is appointed by the government, following resolutions of both Houses of the Oireachtas. This member must be a former member of either the Dáil or the Seanad, and is appointed for a six year term.