Baile  /  Eolas Fúinn  /  Comhaltaí  /  Michael Smith

Michael Smith

Michael SmithMichael Smith (Micheál Mac Gabhann) was born in Roscrea, County Tipperary in 1940. He was educated at CBS Templemore in County Tipperary. Mr. Smith worked as a farmer before he entered Dáil Éireann at the 1969 general election as a Fianna Fáil TD for Tipperary North.

Michael Smith has been a TD for Tipperary North on several occasions since 1969. He was re-elected to Dáil Éireann at the 1977 general election. He has also served for five years as a Senator in Seanad Éireann (1982–1987).  He was elected first on the Agricultural Panel and then on the Cultural and Educational Panel.  He was re-elected to the Dáil at the 1987 general election and subsequent general elections of 1989, 1992, 1997 and 2002.

In 1980 he was appointed Minister of State at the Department of Agriculture.  He has also served as Minister for Energy (1988–1989), Minister for the Environment (1992–1994), Minister for Education (1994) and Minister for Defence (1997–2004).

Mr. Michael Smith was appointed to the Standards in Public Office Commission by the Government on 19 December 2007, following resolutions passed by each House of the Oireachtas (Parliament).